WPTDeepStacks Season I Player of the Year Ryan Smith

Congratulations to Ryan Smith, the WPTDeepStacks 2014 Player of the Year!

Ryan Smith had a very successful run starting in Edmonton, Canada. He was crowned the Champion in the $1,500 NL Main Event at Casino Yellowhead after defeating Josh Steeper for the title, earning himself over $79,000. He then made his way west to Oceanside, California for the last WPTDeepStacks stop of the season. He was 4th on the POY list with Fraser Short first on the leaderboard. Fraser Short was unable to attend the last series being only 20 years old. Second on the leaderboard was Jonathan Sanborn, who made his way to San Diego hunting for the Player of the Year title. After elimination before the money, Ryan Smith was climbing the leaderboard. Finishing 44th in the $1,100 Main event surpassing Sanborn and Short, gaining the title with 101.72 points. Finishing in 2nd place was Harshit Patel with 90.47 pts!

As a reward, Ryan will receive a seat into the 2015 WPT© World Championship as well as a 2015 WPTDeepStacks Sponsorship package including: A $5,000 package that can be used towards WPTDeepStacks buy-ins, hotel & airfare accommodations, a spotlight feature on WPTDeepStacks.com and official WPTDeepStacks gear. In addition, Ryan will also receive a custom WPTDeepStacks Player of the Year Trophy and a custom WPTDeepStacks Player of the Year poker table provided by Off Tilt Poker Tables.