Mitchell Heidt Wins DSPT Edmonton Main Event! ($100,000)


Mitchell Heidt topped a field of 511 players to win the DSPT Edmonton Main Event on Monday night at the Casino Yellowhead here in Edmonton. Heidt was awarded $100,000 in prize money and the DSPT championship package, along with the DSPT Trophy. Action started at the final table relatively slow, but following the 9th place elimination of Tony Hoang, action picked up and a flurry of eliminations quickly followed.

Season 1 DSPT Player of the Year, Ryan Smith, was also in contention for the title. Smith was battling for the Series Champion title as well, but he would need 5th or better to take home the Series Champion trophy. Unfortunately for Smith, the run would come to an end in 8th place when his A♥7♥ couldn’t track down the A♦J♦ of Ed Sikorski. Following Smith it was Sikorsky(7th), Doug James (6th), Jimmy Lee(5th), and Jasdeep Manhas.

Three handed play started with Bahman Ataeianfar holding a chip lead, but after a massive pot between Ataeianfar and Heidt, the momentum shifted completely into Heidt’s favor. The double up for Heidt would leave Ataeianfar crippled, and he was eliminated a few hands later.

The exit of Ataeianfar would leave Heidt and Louie heads up, with Heidt holding a 3-1 chip lead. The lead would be too much for Louie to overcome and Mitchell Heidt is the newest DSPT Edmonton Champion!